The Divisions

I tend to look at my life as divided into two very distinct parts.  Ok, yes, it’s probably more complicated and more divided than that, but for the sake of veganism, mind/body/soul, the divide is clear.  My journey into the holistic world started when I was 18 with my first Philosophy class.  I had the most amazing Professor who encouraged me to take class after class until…what do you know…I had taken all of his courses and gone on to a BA in Philosophy and Cultural Studies.  I remember him speaking about Zen retreats and Buddhism.  It was all so fascinating and spiritual.  I knew it was something I wanted to try, but, as we all know, sometimes we live in a world/community not conducive to who we want to be and we end up being who we are at the moment.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with who we are at the moment, heck, it got us to who we are now, but at the moment doesn’t always mean in the moment. Living in the moment is a deeper sense of being and something that we all need to practice.  (Meditation helps greatly with this.) It took me a while to understand that I could be both spiritual and religious at the same time and that they meant different things.  The spiritual side of me now loves all things Buddha and Karma.  I have prayer flags from Tibet and crystals from around the world.  Ok, ok, so my kids call that being a hippie…I’m ok with that.  I embrace my inner hippie!  The religious side of me follows tradition and goes to Church and knows that it’s all ok.

Along with a spiritual transformation comes the realization that something else should be different.  For my entire life, I never really ate meat.  (Yes, I said it.) I looked up to a wonderful vegetarian friend and wondered what her world was like.  After some planning, I decided to become vegetarian.  I won’t lie to you.  It took me two tries.  The first time, I think I was eating like fries and oreos and got sick.  The next time, I had studied, done my HW, and made it!!!!  EXCITEMENT!  Years later I came upon a group of Vegan Activists who handed me a PETA brochure and asked me to watch the videos on the site.  Well, one video down and I was hooked!  How could anyone eat friends after learning about what goes on?  I won’t give you the gory details here, PETA has a great site for that, but know that it’s NOT good!  We do not have the right to treat any sentient being that way.  There’s so much that goes along with Veganism–compassion, activism, spirituality, environmentalism, and the ability to stand up for what you believe in and rally for some of the cutest, softest and most loving creatures on the Earth–the animals.

The division had been made….I went from the young religious omnivore to the older (Yes, the food divide happened in my thirties!  It’s never too late!) religious, spiritual. vegan activist (and lovable hippie!)!  Who would’ve thought I would find the place I belonged so late in life?  The transformation and journey had begun….  What comes next will amaze you!

 

2 thoughts on “The Divisions

  1. Hey, I came to this way later than you and you’re right, it’s like BV (before vegan) and AV (after vegan)! Although I didn’t eat meat for the last 10 or so years, I still ate chicken, fish and dairy because I thought if they were organic it was ok. It was surviving breast cancer treatment that opened my mind and I began to learn there is no “good” way to eat animals, that they are the cause of most human illness and that there is no “humane” way to kill an animal and that this animal farming industry is the bane of human existence: degrading to the environment and our collective earth in the most dangerous way and cruel to the furthest degree to the animals we profess to love. So, whatever age we come to it is better than never coming to it at all, right? I’d actually rather have this breast cancer and be alive in my heart being vegan than not have breast cancer and still be dead.
    -Naomi :), so gratefully vegan…

    Like

    • Hi, Naomi:
      Thank you for your comment! What a touching story about where your divides are. I think we all have these divides in one way or another and some may have more than one! I totally agree that your age doesn’t matter when deciding to become vegan. Whatever age you are, you will find health, vitality, inspiration and a community of truly devoted people who are banning together for a cause. Everyone has their own journey towards veganism and that may include taking baby steps and that’s ok, we all start as babies and grow and learn. It gives us a strong foundation to build on and that is the way it should be. Have a wonderful evening! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

