Next!

What comes next in the life of a Main Street Vegan Academy graduate, you ask?  I’ll tell you!  Lot’s of thinking!!!!  There are so many ways to inform people about how to become vegan and help the planet, environment and, most of all, the beautiful, lovable animals we encounter.  I know my thinking process went a lot like this…how to I tell people it’s easy to be vegan and they won’t starve or become malnourished?   How do I let them know they won’t need a handful of vitamins daily if they partake in nature’s beautiful array of fruits and veggies?  How do I get them to believe that they can eat their favorite foods (with a few tweaks)?  I decided to show them.

Having a teaching degree and background made it easy for me to find a way to teach them…by finding the best info out there and spreading the news!  We are lucky, in today’s technological age, to have so many ways to inform people.  I think, for me, a lot of my business is online.  From webpages, to blogs, to twitter, to emails and skype calls with clients near and far…my computer and tablet have become attached to me.  People might say this is a bad thing.  I might agree if it weren’t for the goal in mind.   The goal is to help get the word out to as many people as possible.  What better way to do that?

I’ve been lucky enough to have actually been invited to attend various functions and lectures.  I was invited to speak to individuals with disabilities.  What an amazing opportunity!  One person was already vegetarian.  A move he made solely on his own!  He needed guidance on how to eat properly (don’t we all) and his wonderful supervisors thought it would be amazing to have a group lecture so the others could learn about the life their friend was living and, maybe, decide it was right for them!  They had so many questions, were so open and excited!  What a fantastic audience!  I have since heard from them and learned that our vegetarian friend is branching out and the others are excitedly trying new foods!  WONDERFUL!  This is what it’s all about!

My table at the First Annual Hudson Valley Food Festival looked awesome (if I do say so myself)!  The most amazing part of this festival, for me, was that I thought I would be speaking with people who were already vegan (It is the Vegan Food Festival.), however, about 80% of the people I spoke to were NOT vegan and were ready and willing to try!  They had so many questions, though…which is where I came in!  Cute story….one woman said she couldn’t be vegan because of her love of cheese puffs!  I assured her there are vegan cheese puffs and that after making the move with the other aspects of her diet and lifestyle, the cheese puffs may not be that important to her.  She agreed!  The moral of this story…don’t decide not to try veganism because you love cheese, eggs, milk.  In my eyes, it’s ok to turn your entire diet and lifestyle around and be the vegan who occasionally drinks a glass of milk (or has some cheese puffs).  While it’s not the ideal, it’s soooo much better for you, the animals and the world than not doing it all.  One day, it will stick and those eggs, milk and cheese puffs will be a thing of the past.

Don’t be afraid to start slow on your vegan journey if you are a person who needs that.  Meatless Mondays are a beautiful thing.  You can, also, start by having only vegan foods for a few meals a day.  If you are someone who is better with cold turkey and drop everything at once!  Go for it!  Maybe you are someone who would do better starting with a vegan lifestyle and save diet for last…switch over to non-leather shoes and clothing, no silk, no wool.  You can shop for beauty products that are cruelty-free and vegan.  There are so many different ways to begin but the ending will be the same!

Next up for me?  My new venture Vegan Teacher LLC.  Look for the webpage, schedule and client testimonials coming soon!  In the meantime….do some soul searching…see which start you’d like to take….

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

